making of us“Glenys Pike was thirty-five years old.”

I’ve always considered myself lucky to have such a close family. Oh sure, we argue and bicker, but I know that when the chips are down, they’ll be there for me, and I for them. To imagine life without a close family is strange to me. But this is one of the issues in Lisa Jewell’s The Making of Us. It’s been a few years since I read Jewell, but I’m a big fan of hers, and I’ve got a bit behind on her output. It was time to sort that out.

This is the story of Lydia, a self-made millionaire who lives alone in an enormous London mansion and is struggling with life now her best friend has had a child. Lydia has no one, her parents are both long dead, and she feels herself drifting from her friend. This is also the story of Robyn, a street-smart, uber-confident girl who has just turned eighteen and her life is completely and utterly perfect in every possible way, down to the fact that she’s just met the man of her dreams. This is also the story of Dean, a young man who has suddenly been thrust into fatherhood when his daughter is born prematurely and his girlfriend dies in childbirth. Unable to cope with the situation, he runs.

These three don’t know each other, but the world soon conspires to bring them together. It turns out that each of them shares something huge – they are all the progeny of the same sperm donor. He, Daniel, is in a hospice, dying of cancer, and calls upon his friend Maggie to help in in his final hours. Daniel wants to meet his children.

Each chapter gives us the point of view of a different character – usually Lydia, Robyn, Dean or Maggie – and allows us into their version of the world. Jewell captures the struggle of loneliness well, and her characters are all wonderfully distinct. She notes in the back of the book that she enjoyed writing this one, and it shows. Jewell is excellent at setting her stories so intensely in the real world that we feel that these people might be living just down the road from us. They certainly feel real.

But this is a heartbreaking book, too, a study in the ways our lives can go wrong and what we can do to fix them again. It’s about how all families are different, but they’re all extraordinary. Jewell ties everything up nicely, and the one potentially contrived plot point I was worried was coming didn’t (although it turned into something much sadder), and the book ends on a note of hope, that these characters are going to be OK. And that’s good, I want them to be.

I think my favourite character is Dean. There’s something sweet about him, even if he does run out on his daughter. He’s not perfect, but he’s young and scared, and he needs more of an anchor in his life. He never had a father, and his mother doesn’t seem interested in helping him get on with his life particularly, so he needs a family more than the rest, I think. Robyn is my least favourite narrator, but she’s not without charm. I just think she’d irritate me if I met her, since she appears intensely self-absorbed.

Once again, I am reminded that Jewell’s name is very apt – she is a diamond. She can take the everyday lives of people and make them interesting, allowing them to sparkle and shine. It’s an interesting book, and like many stories, there are sections that are better than others, overall it’s brilliant; very moving and very positive.

