jane eyreI have never made secret my frustration with the classics. I think frustration is the right word. Being an enormous fan of The Eyre Affair and Jasper Fforde’s work in general, I thought it was time to read this novel. Also, I’d promised a friend that I would. But, after nineteen days I am still only halfway through the novel and beginning to lose the will to live.

As such, for the first time in a long time, I’m giving up on a book. Not totally, but for now.

The truth is that, actually, I don’t dislike it nearly as much as I thought I would. Jane and Rochester are both interesting characters, the plot is melodramatic but keeps its claws in you. It really comes down to my personal taste and the style of the writing. I have tremendous difficulty keeping my attendance on language like this, and so the whole thing feels like a real slog to get through.

It doesn’t help that life has been a bit mental recently, with events both personal and professional, keeping me from writing. NaNoWriMo, which I was attempting this year again, also seems to have slipped by the wayside as other things took precedence. I intended to read Jane Eyre while doing NaNoWriMo so that a boring book wouldn’t distract me from my own writing. That didn’t much work, either.

I will finish it, because I still want to, but for now I must take a break. It may even become that I read a chapter between every other book I read until it’s done. All I know is that if I don’t read something modern soon, I’m going to hit someone.

I will return with a post here soon about Danny King’s The Hitman Diaries. In the meantime, keep on reading and check out my brand new official website.

See you soon.

